Advice from a Friend Who has beaten the Bloody Cancer.

My Continuing Adventures with Breast Cancer

Emma Sachsse
4 min readJun 3, 2024

This entry is collated from a bunch of messages I received from an old friend. They arrived at exactly the right time, a time when I wasn’t able to wade through all the different resources about breast cancer, but felt like I should be. It is overwhelming trying to work out what I need to know, who I need to follow and what I can just ignore for now. It goes against the grain for me to not be researching and learning as much as I can but I really don’t have the capacity to. I am still just waiting for that call to tell me when my surgery is.

So to my dear friend who (before Shelli’s death from Breast Cancer got me to have yearly mammograms) was the one who got me to be more vigilant in manually checking my breasts for lumps, thank you for sharing your journey and providing support and insight.

Oh no Em! You got the buggery bollocks BC too!?! Darn it, woman. It’s a crappy roller coaster ride of all the feels and treatment, for sure, but I’m so glad it was caught early. If you need a poster child for someone who has ridden all the rides in this particular un-fun shit-show and still remains relatively functional after almost 10 years on negative oestrogen , I guess it could be me…?

--

--