Bloody Waiting …

My Breast Cancer Journey

Emma Sachsse
5 min readMay 25, 2024

One of my favourite humour writers, Kyrie Gray recently posed the question “Can I make Cancer funny?”

I now understand her conundrum and have been pondering the same question.

I am writing about my journey. The same way I did when I started my writing journey. I originally started the Diary of Being a Writer to keep me accountable. I found it helped me so much more, in unexpected ways. It helped me process my feelings about what I was learning, dealing with the setbacks and to recognise the progress I was making and I hoped it might help others understand the journey better and not feel so alone if they were on the same path. So why not do it with this breast cancer journey?

Despite my catching it early, it is still turning out to be a wild ride. I know I will beat this thing. However, it is still a lot to deal with, learn about, and reckon with.

As for the humour, I have the right sort of family and friends that depending on the mood and the moment I can bust out the “but I have the cancer” for maximum comedic effect. Making it funny in writing will be a bit harder, so bear with me if this doesn’t make you laugh.

I am currently sitting in the waiting room for out-patients at Modbury Hospital and it is very busy after taking your deli style ticket…

--

--